First HookTool

All things bowl turning, hooks, lathes etc..

Moderators: jrccaim, Bob_Fleet, gavin, Robin Fawcett, HughSpencer

First HookTool

Postby PETER WOOD » Tue Jun 10, 2008 7:25 pm

Hello. I made my first hook tool last week and have now turned a couple of bowls with it. The tool works well but is not holding an edge, I will need to retemper it and while I have the forge fired up I will make some more tools of diferent sizes. Here is a photo of one of the bowls.

Image[/img]
PETER WOOD
Regular

Postby paul atkin » Wed Jun 11, 2008 8:27 am

lovely looking bowl there Peter, i am no expert in blacksmithing but when you retemper the tool, wait for the colours to run and when you get a straw shade at the tip quench.
paul atkin
Regular

Re: First HookTool

Postby robin wood » Wed Jun 11, 2008 8:35 am

PETER WOOD wrote:Hello. I made my first hook tool last week and have now turned a couple of bowls with it. The tool works well but is not holding an edge, I will need to retemper it and while I have the forge fired up I will make some more tools of diferent sizes. Here is a photo of one of the bowls.

Image[/img]

Great looking bowl, well done and great that you are making your own tools too. Personally if you have a tool that is working that well why not keep it as it is and make another to experiment with hardening and tempering. Its not the end of the world to have a tool that works but is on the soft side, just means you have to sharpen more often. My very first tools I used to sharpen with a chain saw file, they did not hold an edge for long but it was very quick and easy to touch them up. Its worse to get a tool that is too hard and snaps when you have a dig in.
http://www.robin-wood.co.uk bowls, books and courses
robin wood
Regular

combination blade

Postby Tomio Imaru » Wed Jun 11, 2008 11:36 am

I think, there would be a chance to introduce a combinationed blade.