New Spoon Carver

When you are starting out there are a lot of questions. Ask them here!

Moderators: jrccaim, Bob_Fleet, gavin, Robin Fawcett, HughSpencer

New Spoon Carver

Postby OldDarkOne » Sun Feb 23, 2014 12:59 am

2ndspoon22.JPG
2ndspoon22.JPG (28 KiB) Viewed 6053 times
Greetings! I am Jeff Rich from Central Indiana, USA.
I have stumbled upon spoon carving and it has taken hold! Much like the turning bug!
I have been woodworking of some form or the other for most of my life.
I have been turning semi-pro for the last 10 years.
I make a variety of bowls and goblets and a few other trinkets.
Here is a picture of my most recent and second spoon.
OldDarkOne

Re: New Spoon Carver

Postby simon » Sun Feb 23, 2014 4:52 pm

Great second spoon. Keep going, the first 1000 are the hardest. :D
Make it, mend it, wear it out,
Make it do or do without.
FB Simon Lamb Green woodwork
simon
Regular

Postby ToneWood » Mon Feb 24, 2014 2:35 pm

Welcome Jeff. The Swedes/Scandinavians have a tradition of spoon carving and have some interesting designs & insights - I find the books by Wille Sundqvist & his son Jogge Sundqvist interesting and useful (& Jogge's DVD). But suggest that you browse this forum first & see what others have done. You might want to google for some images too - several forum members have interesting and inspiring examples on their own websites (e.g. Robin Wood, Peter Follansbee, David Fisher sometimes). Images & on-line videos of Spoonfest - which features several top spoon carvers each year - are often worth viewing. Barn the Spoon in the UK & Drew Langsner's Country Workshops website in the USA are other places to look.

Also, check out US forum member Jarrod StoneDahl's spoon carving video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=p ... dB_Tr3eX1w
& website (which feature his "spoon horse") too: http://jarrodstonedahl.blogspot.co.uk/
Last edited by ToneWood on Sun Mar 02, 2014 4:59 pm, edited 1 time in total.
ToneWood
Regular