Having sales trouble..

When you are starting out there are a lot of questions. Ask them here!

Moderators: jrccaim, Bob_Fleet, gavin, Robin Fawcett, HughSpencer

Having sales trouble..

Postby anthonywilder » Fri May 23, 2014 8:14 pm

I have been carving spoons for about a year and I am pretty new to selling. I have a moderately successful etsy but the spoons do not sell. I would love any criticism or advice, especially from those who sell/buy spoons. This is my Etsy Shop: https://www.etsy.com/shop/anthonyswoodshop
Thanks,
-Anthony
anthonywilder

Re: Having sales trouble..

Postby gavin » Sat May 24, 2014 8:37 pm

Do you sell at markets?
Do you go face-to-face with your customer?
Do that for say 10 different markets and then report back with your experiences. You'll learn lots you can share.

A diary of items ideally with pictures you sold and the prices you sold them at will help you and readers here. Also the words or stories you used to close each sale. Trust me, there is a great deal of science to this process. I find it very predictable - which in no way lessens my enthusiasm for the selling process. I love to sell face-to-face.

Should you wish to see how it is done by Shed Therapists, PM me and I'll make some arrangements for your presence at the Royal Highland Show in Edinburgh 19 to 22 June. We really sell participation & mini-courses, and from that comes some sale of ware.

I suspect you'd like a critique of your on-line selling efforts. With respect, you are asking in the wrong place. Go hire an online marketing consultant with proven ability in this area.

Some makers don't want to talk about selling face-to-face. There may be responses below mine that abhor the notion of closing techniques, or phrases that sell ( search this forum for those terms and you'll see a variety of opinions).
Gavin Phillips

- teacher, demonstrator & supporter of greenwoodworking & human-powered turning
- Supplier of Fun & Confidence

info@shed-therapy.com