Afternoon All

When you are starting out there are a lot of questions. Ask them here!

Moderators: jrccaim, Bob_Fleet, gavin, Robin Fawcett, HughSpencer

Afternoon All

Postby Shingle » Tue Jul 08, 2014 12:58 pm

Nice to meet you all. I'm a woodworker and wood turner but haven't worked much with green wood. I do however absolutely love it and the part of the process in creating blanks for turning naturally has me ferreting about with tree and branch material. There has been a latent desire to start doing something with it since stripping the bark off willow twigs with a pen knife as a nipper. I figured I ought to join somewhere where the folks actually know what they're talking about! So here I am.

I want to start with a froe because I plan to build a wood drying open fronted extension to my shed and I rather fancy having a go at making shingles for the roof. I've done a meander around t'interweb and from what I can gather the Ray Iles premium large froe (with the rounded edges) seems a good enough place to start???

I would really appreciate any advice and guidance in that assertion. Am I close to the mark or barking up the wrong tree.

Last question then I promise to leave you all alone. I appreciate Ash isn't ideal for outside projects. If I went headlong against that advice (because I have some) and used it for my shingles, how long might it last? Ball park is all I'm after here since I know that question comes riddled with variables. I do have a little oak but possibly not enough. Can they be placed in situ on the roof when green also?

Many thanks.

Rob
Shingle

Re: Afternoon All

Postby Brian Williamson » Tue Jul 08, 2014 2:37 pm

Hello Rob and welcome,

I don't have any knowledge of the Ray Iles froes, so can't offer any endorsement of them. The notion of a froe with rounded edges is a little worrying, though. Whilst froes are rarely sharpened to a knife edge, they do need to sharp(ish) for ease of entry into the wood.