Rung sizes for chair or stool

When you are starting out there are a lot of questions. Ask them here!

Moderators: jrccaim, Bob_Fleet, gavin, Robin Fawcett, HughSpencer

Rung sizes for chair or stool

Postby Pcottingham » Sun Jul 19, 2015 8:43 pm

I am new to green woodworking, and I have read in many places that the best size for tenons for rungs or seat is 5/8". I have a 9/16" tenon former, and am wondering if that will be sufficient. I am mostly working in white oak, red oak, and maple.

I struggle to wrap my head around the belief that 1/16" in rived wood would make a whole lot of difference, but I'm brand new to this.

Any opinions?

Thanks.

Paul
Pcottingham

Re: Rung sizes for chair or stool

Postby benwillis » Tue Jul 21, 2015 2:47 pm

It's on the cusp of being too small I'd say - those joints are pretty essential stucturally in that kind of construction. You might just get away with it if you form the tenon once the wood's dry, but if you do it when it's green you'll lose c.10% more of that diameter through drying shrinkage, which probably would be too small. Though obviously if you form the tenon when it's dry you lose the ability to take advantage of the differential shrinkage you get with a tenon formed green and allowed to shrink to an oval that's slightly larger than the mortice, thus ensuring a tight fit without need for glue

Good luck

www.bw-greenwood.co.uk
benwillis

Postby Davie Crockett » Wed Jul 22, 2015 1:22 pm