Pole lathe for not so green woodworking

discussion of the niceties of turning on a bow, bungee or pole lathe.

Moderators: jrccaim, Bob_Fleet, gavin, Robin Fawcett, HughSpencer

Pole lathe for not so green woodworking

Postby llwynog » Mon Dec 19, 2011 2:58 pm

Hello,
This is my first post on this forum and I hesitated for a long time whether I should post on the "Beginners' Corner" or on the "Pole Lathe turning" section.
I am a beginner and my questions pertains to pole lathes.

First question, is a pole lathe only usable with green wood or can it also be used effectively with seasoned wood ? If I built myself a spring pole lathe, it would be mostly used to turn dry wood in a first time.

Once or twice a year, I find that I need a woodworking lathe to turn a tool handle or a part of furniture but I could never justify the price of a powered lathe. I first learned about pole lathe by watching/reading Roy Underhill's "Woodwright's Shop" shows/books.
I am now very interested in the possibility of building myself a lathe and maybe making it evolve as needed.

Second question is on the design of the lathe, the 2 plans I have access to are the one from Roy Underhill (such as this one : http://lumberjocks.com/projects/49622) and the plan on this very website. Any comments regarding these plans ? Are there some other interesting plans online or in some books ?
I will need to keep the lathe as compact as possible (I live in an apartment so my balcony/workshop has limited space) so I am considering a bungee cord instead of a wooden pole.
Is it a major inconvenience if the cord is located to a fixed point on the lathe ? If the cord location is indeed fixed, is one side better than the center ? Roy Underhill's design calls for the cord to be on one side of the lathe whereas stretching a bungee cord between 2 uppers tend to locate the cord in the middle of the bed.