Skew Techniques

discussion of the niceties of turning on a bow, bungee or pole lathe.

Moderators: jrccaim, Bob_Fleet, gavin, Robin Fawcett, HughSpencer

Skew Techniques

Postby David Sims » Sun Apr 21, 2013 3:48 am

Hey there,

Are there any specific skew techniques that would help me use my skew on my pole lathe? I am fairly new to pole lathe turning and this is one tool that I have a heck of a time using. It always ends up riding all over the place mucking things up.

Original I was going to make my own tools, but I ended up buying the Ashley Iles Carbon steel set and really like it. They take a great edge and cut really well. I got the 4 tool set. Here is a link so you can see what I am talking about: http://www.toolsforworkingwood.com/stor ... ning_Tools

The only tool I cannot seem to master out of this set is the skew chisel. I could really use some help with that one tool. Anyone care to post a short vid showing proper technique? :D Written help would be appreciated as well but might be a bit harder to understand or say vs seeing it in action.

Thanks in advance.

Dave
David Sims

Re: Skew Techniques

Postby gavin » Sun Apr 21, 2013 4:58 pm

I am not aware of any videos.

But here are my tips:
If your skew is say 30 mm wide, make sure you only offer less than 15 mm up to the work. With less than half the width touching the work, you've less chance of a dig in.
Cut down hill i.e. from bigger diameter toward a smaller diameter. Even a slight slope makes a lot of difference.

Hold the handle of the tool so that the cutting edge is nearly parallel to the axis of rotation.

Let the bevel rub. If you are not capable of pulling off thin shavings 3 to 5 mm wide with other tools, then you should not be using skew.
Gavin Phillips

- teacher, demonstrator & supporter of greenwoodworking & human-powered turning
- Supplier of Fun & Confidence

info@shed-therapy.com
http://www.shed-therapy.com
gavin
Regular

Postby Robin Fawcett » Mon Apr 22, 2013 10:57 am